MIND ON MONEY: Who Moved My Cheese? via @holla_KGreene #mwn

        Greetings Readers!  My name is Kelly Greene.  I am a former autoworker from Detroit Michigan.  Why former? I look too young to retire.  Did I hit the Lottery?  Did I find the key to financial bliss?  The answer to both questions is no.  The truth is I lost my job due the economy as well as thousands of others in America.  The funny thing about it, I should have been prepared.  Had I took one book seriously, I just might have been.

      About 12 years ago, I was given a book by my girlfriend.  The book was called “Who Moved My Cheese?” by Spencer Johnson.  I read it and cast it to the side as a decent read.  I couldn’t take it seriously.  I was working at American Axle and making good money or “Getting that Cheese” as we say in the hood.  “Cheese” was plentiful then.  I worked 50-60 hrs a week for an automobile company and automobiles are  one of the top 5 inventions of all time.  The world was not going to replace the automobile anytime soon. I was certain that I would have a job for life or at least 30 yrs. I was wrong.  I didn’t factor in that where they made the parts or the automobiles themselves were subject to change.  American Axle moved my Cheese to Mexico 10 yrs after I read that book!  Spencer Johnson was right!  We have to be ready and expect change in both our professional and private lives.

Spencer Johnson’s book gives a perspective on how to anticipate and deal with change without becoming  the mouse in the maze.  We all get comfortable knowing where our cheese is and follow the maze perfectly.  Where we run into the problems when someone moves that cheese.  We are so used to it being there that we don’t know anywhere else to run to find it.  Or better yet, obtaining the skills necessary to control our own cheese.  I bet I am not the only one looking to establish themselves financially this year.  People are starting right now and looking for sound advice.  I recommend reading “Who Moved My Cheese” first.  This will help you develop a series of back-up plans in case the one you want to start the new year with falls through.  As for my girlfriend at the time?  I married her! You gotta love anybody who can give you a book that can help secure your future!

       Are you are an author and have a book out or due out this year? Share with me your thoughts on Money this month.  Now that everybody’s cheese is getting moved, we need to know how to keep what little we got.  Do you coupon? Did you pay off you credit cards knowing they were getting cancelled? How did you get through the recession? I want to talk about your book right here in the  Motown Writers Network?

Contact Me:  hollakgreene@gmail.com Or The Motown Writers Network!

                                                                                  -Kelly Greene

www.hollaifyouhearme.com

Categories: Article, Author Insights, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 12,543 other followers

