#MichLit Spotlight: Kim Kelsey, author of In Between My Tears #motownlit #mwn

Name of Author Kim Kelsey

Name of Book In Between My Tears

Author Website www.inbetweenmytears.com

facebook: In Between My Tears

click here to purchase book

In the Author’s Own Words

I’m from Detroit, Michigan. I have written my story in my mind for over 40 years. I start writing with a writer’s coach in 2010. I never considered my self a writer I just wanted to write about an experience I had as a teenager. As a teenager I was placed in a girl’s home and it was such a profound experienced that I wanted to write about it.

I had read my autobiographies and they inspired me to want to write about my experience.

My title I was given to me from the Holy Spirit. I had another title in mind when I finished writing but one day I heard in my thoughts the title is “In Between My Tears.”

I thought I had lived my life in constant emotions experiencing things though my tears. That’s why I went with that title.i don’t know if there is a style of writing. I did a lot of flashback in my writing of the story. The book is all realistic.

My message is that through love and support from others we can over come any obstacle that comes our way. In my book I believe the support I received from my friends helped me to complete the program and to receive my high school education.

I received support from my writers Coach Marilyn Swcharter, my counselor Donna Marie, my friends, Laura Jannika, Jennifer Tucker,my son Kirk Kelsey and many others. I found writing the book easy as I wanted to write it for years.

I didn’t want to write about the bad things that happen to me because I didn’t want it to be the focus of the book. There was no other way to write it without telling the whole story the good and the bad.

I’ve read many authors over the years. I love reading about black women and their struggles and had they over come. They inspire me for sure.

My sister, Rhodia McNeill drew the picture for my book. My friend, Laura Jannika designed the cover for me. I just love it because its just how I visualized it.

I learned that I am capable of writing because for many years I didn’t think I could write well enough for people to read and enjoy my story. I’ve learned that people want to see others achieve their dreams and they’re willing to help.

I would like for readers to know that I’m alright. That all that has happened in the book is all behind me. Life for me just happen to be hard but it has so many wonderful things in between the it all.

Name of Author Kim Kelsey

Name of Book In Between My Tears

Author Website www.inbetweenmytears.com

facebook: In Between My Tears

click here to purchase book

Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “#MichLit Spotlight: Kim Kelsey, author of In Between My Tears #motownlit #mwn

  1. I wish you much success.

    Like

  2. Cathy Ventura

    A truly inspiring story of a young woman, who beyond adversity learned to thrive…I couldn’t put it down

    Like

Leave a Reply

