MWN Author Spotlight- Elizabeth Weyman

Elizabeth WeymanCome with us as we spotlight another awesome Michigan author, Elizabeth Weyman.
Where are you from?
Owosso, Michigan
Tell us your latest news?
I have recently published my second novel, “Promise at Daybreak” in September of 2015. My first released in August of 2014, entitled, “Under the Windowsill.”
When and why did you begin writing?
I began writing in first grade. I was the only one excited to finish a paragraph into a story instead of going out for recess.
When did you first consider yourself a writer?
I was first published in a church curriculum guide and that was when I knew I wanted to be a full-time writer.
What inspired you to write your first book?
Whenever someone asked me in college what I wanted to do after my education, I would always say…I want to be a writer. Write books, advertising copy, newspaper articles or even magazine articles. I did it all.
Do you have a specific writing style?
My writing is contemporary. I write to entertain my readers. Give them a fun getaway for just a few hours.
How did you come up with the title?
I usually end up writing the entire book before creating the titles. My first came to me as I was driving into a nearby town. I just knew it to be the title the moment I thought of it. The second title came to me on a walk.
Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Yes. I think every author pursues this goal. Each book was different, but I try to instill a sense of what it is like to fix family relationships. Create in reader’s hearts a search which will ultimately lead to eternal hope.
How much of the book is realistic?
I always pursue realistic scenes, but in some ways, it is still just fiction. Many of my readers tell me they feel as though they are sitting down for tea or a meal with my characters. They feel a part of the scene. I think that’s as realistic as you can get.
Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
I think every writer pulls from ‘what they know.’ But I always point out to all my readers, it is still just based off of ideas from my creativity. There might be similarities to the people I know, but they are totally new created beings on paper.
What books have most influenced your life most?
Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers as well as The Last Sin Eater.  I love Rivers style and the way she weaves thoughts into her plots. I’ve loved to read for years. Some of my first loves were the Little House series and Nancy Drew.
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
 I’ve met many influential writers at many of the writer’s conferences I’ve attended. Some are seasoned and experienced, others were just like me…starting out. But some of my closest mentors were newspaper editors who have influenced my writing in many ways.
What book are you reading now?
I’m in between reading right now. I have a stressful job during the summer which doesn’t allow me to read much. But I enjoy reading new author books and also watching for my favorite authors’ new works.
Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
Cynthia Ruchti is a new author who is also a friend. I enjoy her works.
What are your current projects?
I am concentrating on marketing my second book right now, but the third one has begun formulating in my mind and I want to begin writing it in November.
Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
My community. My hometown. For years I was their newspaper reporter and now they have come behind me with enthusiasm and excitement in my new adventure of being a novel writer.
Do you see writing as a career?
Absolutely. From day one.
If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
I would have proofread…just one more time.
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
In first grade, as I said before, the teacher challenged us to read 100 books in a certain amount of time. I was one of ten or so students who took multiple books home every single day to read. I finished the project and got my name and photo in the newspaper. That was the beginning for me. Reading led to writing.
Can you share a little of your current work with us?
My third book will be about loss and mourning. I love to work through situations and show people the best way to relate and deal with a hard subject. Promise at Daybreak was about elderly sisters dealing with dementia and congestive heart failure. Death loomed, how would they handle it.
Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Promoting myself. I try harder to promote my books, but it is really hard to promote myself as a new writer. An author. Probably because I have to pinch myself daily to see if it is really true.
Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
As I said before, Francine Rivers is my favorite. I love how she weaves her life principles into fiction.
Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
I’m not sure what you mean by this question. I have traveled to Mackinac Island to promote my books which has the same setting. I went there this summer for a book signing.
Who designed the covers?
I have the ideas and take the photos for my books, but I have a master at graphics from i-60 Media in Durand, MI.
What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Being diligent at each step. Writing, plotting, editing and then marketing.
Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
It was a dream I had all my life. I wasn’t sure I could ever do it, but afterwards it taught me that if you have a dream, achieve it. Just do it!
Do you have any advice for other writers?
Learn, grow and write…in that order. Just because you have an idea for a book, doesn’t mean you have the skills and talent to do it. I went four writing conferences, studied the craft in depth and then tried to pursue it.
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I appreciate them. I am humbled every single time I get a compliment on my writing and my books.
Promise at daybreak
Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “MWN Author Spotlight- Elizabeth Weyman

  1. ekoopslaw@aol.com

    Dear Sylvia,

    Hi! We met at last Sunday’s author event at the Commerce Township Library. I have the long dark hair and my book is Perceived Threat, a political thriller and murder mystery. We talked about how I had emailed you before and you had not responded. You said we would go ahead and do the free author promo. So, I am touching base to see if we can move forward with it. I believe you have a series of questions that you need me to answer. I am available to move forward whenever you are. Thanks, Sylvia!

    All My Best, Elissa Elissa Schwartz (pen name – Elisa Koopmans)

    Like

Leave a Reply

