#MotownWriters Author Feature: Joanna Morey

Author Photo Joanna MoreyJoanna Morey

Where are you from?

I live in Charlotte, Michigan

Tell us your latest news?

My first self-published romantic fiction novel “Like Sparrows” was released in July 2015. I am currently working on a sequel.

When and why did you begin writing?

I have been writing since I was about four years old. Most of my writing has consisted of short stories, poetry, and journaling, but in October of 2014 I decided to write a novel.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I feel as though I still have a difficult time considering myself a writer. I look at my writing peers and I am in awe off their accomplishments. Maybe one day I will see myself the same way I see them.

What inspired you to write your first book?

After the birth of my first child I wanted to show him that anything is possible and to always encourage him follow his dreams.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I enjoy writing romantic fiction with a bit of suspense to keep my audience guessing how the story will end.

How did you come up with the title?

There is a scene in the book that makes reference to the title. It is a small part of the book, but helped to evolve the underlying theme of the book.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

We are all on a journey. No matter the trials that life brings our way and the unexpected turn of events that may occur, we will always end up where we are originally destined.

How much of the book is realistic?

The events in the book are not something a person would experience in their lifetime. However, I think a lot of readers can relate to the emotion and the underlying theme of the book.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I feel as though every writer puts a piece of themselves in their writing, whether it be a small piece, such as a name of a person that has influenced their life, or a large piece such as an actual experience.

What books have most influenced your life most?

I am a huge fan of the classics. I enjoy Hemingway, Steinbeck, Salinger, and Poe.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

There are so many! However, when I look for inspiration before I sit down to write I typically read a few lines of Charles Bukowski. My writing is not reflective of his style, but it puts me in the frame of mine to accomplish my writing goals for the day.

What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

“Newer” authors that I enjoy reading (as opposed to the classics) are John Green and Nicholas Sparks. I feel as though readers who enjoy their books would also enjoy mine.

What are your current projects?

I am currently working on a sequel to my first novel as well as two other novels.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Most of my support comes from other local authors I have recently met at recent book events. This “writing community” keeps me motivated and inspired.

Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely! To me, writing is more than a career, it is a way of life!

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would not. Even the slight imperfections that perhaps only I would notice make the book exactly what is, and for that I am proud.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My interest in writing was something I was born with. It’s a piece of me, like and arm or a leg. If I didn’t have it, I would not exist.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here is a small, unedited piece of  Like Wolves:

“Closing her eyes, she wished for a minute or two to breathe, to wrap her mind around what was happening and prepare herself for what was to come. She and her family had made their home, nested like sparrows, and now they must run like wolves toward a safer place. They had planned for, prepared for, but hoped this day would never come. She knew she wouldn’t be able to take the photos from the walls, the crayon drawings that hung on the fridge, her favorite books, or the flowers on the dining room table … There wasn’t time.”

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The most difficult, for me, is transitioning from one major event to another, or leaving the end of my chapters with enough intrigue to make my readers want to turn the page.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

J.D. Salinger is my favorite author. His voice, style, wit, and humanity he puts into his work is refreshing. Although his novels were written decades ago, they maintain their relevance.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I don’t have to travel, however I love to travel! In August 2015 I traveled to my favorite destination on the Chesapeake Bay to inspire one of my novels.

Who designed the covers?

The cover is actually a stock image I used that was provided by the self-publishing company I worked with. They designed the font and style of the title and author name on the cover. I couldn’t have asked for anything better.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

I think the hardest part is the fact that I am a perfectionist and I need to know when enough is enough in terms of modifying/editing the fine details. It can be overdone. I need to know when to quit.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a great deal about myself. Certain events in our life inspire us to be stronger, to push forward. Writing my first novel taught me to believe in myself and keep writing even if I didn’t always believe in it. As it turns out, it was one of my greatest accomplishments and I am very proud of it.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing. Even if you delete whole chapters at a time, keep writing. Write for yourself. Write what makes you happy. The only way to get better is to keep writing.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I am deeply humbled by each purchase of my book. Every kind word, critique, and review is taken to heart. Every time I meet an individual who has been inspired to read my work, inspires me to keep writing. Thank you.

IMG_0002

Connect with the author at:

http://www.joannamoreyauthor.com

Follow on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Joanna-Morey-Author-427474760770246/

Follow on Instagram: @Joannamorey1

Purchase book: http://amzn.to/2iWfOpZ

Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

