#MotownWriters Author Feature: Tracie E. Christian #Michlit @TeeElice

Head Shot

Tracie E. Christian

Toast to the Fool

Where are you from?

I am from the northeast side of Detroit, MI (Pershing High School area)

Tell us your latest news?

I am launching my literary resource imprint B CYDE BOOKS with the Pre-Release Party for my 4th Reflective Fiction novel, Toast to the Fool.

When and why did you begin writing?

I have been writing since I was a little girl. It started out with comic strips about my life in a journal, then shifted to poetry and my love for reading in my teens and young adult years led me to writing fiction. I love to captivate an audience through a good story. Writing allows me the space to do that uninterrupted.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a writer when I held the final proof of my latest book Toast to the Fool because it was a complete escape from my trilogy series. It is my first stand alone effort.

What inspired you to write your first book?

My desire to add something different to the urban lit scene at the time. In 2007, I saw a lot of street lit, erotica and me, he and she literature. I needed to glorify another aspect of urban culture. Having attended a historically black college, I figured a fictional hbcu was as good a setting as any to start. For me, it provided that something different in fiction.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I love to write in the first person. It gives me the opportunity to tell the story from the character’s direct perspective.

How did you come up with the title?

With my latest book in particularly, it was more about building dynamics of my brand. Since I love music and I host a weekly radio show, I wanted to add that component to elements of my writing. So I decided that my next solo, stand alone works will be titled with R&B songs that describe the overall premise of the stories. Hence, Toast to the Fool is taken from a song by the Detroit based soul group, The Dramatics – “Let’s Give A Toast to the Fool Who Let You Go!”

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes…In looking back at your life’s mistakes, TOAST your Inner Fool, because they taught you and brought you through to who and where you are today. It’s okay to travel down memory lane, but only a FOOL gets tripped up over is behind them forever.

How much of the book is realistic?

95%

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Absolutely! This book depicts dynamics of the lives of my three of my closest friends and myself, along with one main character that is completely fictional. The cool part is you can’t tell who is who.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Married Men and all other books by Carl Weber

Terry McMIllan’s – A Day Late a Dollar Short

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Carl Weber I am a student of everything he does in and for urban literature

What book are you reading now?

Poetic Desires by Tyra L. Butler

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Mocha Kymmie K and Samia are definitely names that have my interest peeked.

What are your current projects?

Currently I am releasing Toast to the Fool, I am walking my first 2 B Cyde Books Clients through the debut book process and I am developing my first self-help book tentatively named Good Mornin’ Mental Meals

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

7 Mile Radio, LLC helped beyond measure.

Do you see writing as a career?

Yes

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It’s just always been there. Ever since I learned how to read, I have had the desire to write. The two go together for me…always have.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

1-Nia Elice “One Reckless Night with the Drunken Fool in Me Changed My Entire life!”

As soon as I applied the much-needed effort it took to pull my eyelids apart, I knew I had fucked up royally. Too many Ciroc Obama cocktails and now I am at the point of no return. When I do finally focus through the banging headache, a long night of drinking has put on me, a hideous aroma hits me again like a ton of bricks. The smell of stale vodka and morning breath startles my nostrils like some serious smelling sauce and instantly, jolts me into the upright position in the bed. When I look over and see Tony’s trifling ass, with that ever so fine face buried in a puddle of stinky slob on the pillow next to me, I am disgusted and disappointed, mostly in myself. Why am I disappointed in myself? I guess because I know better. He is an ex for a reason. Actually, Tony Liddell is my ex for several good ass reasons. No matter how upset I was with my new man, Marquise for ruining my 39th birthday celebration, I should have never gone out and got drunk enough to creep with any other brother, not even an ex and definitely not this one. I think inwardly as I finish spilling my guts to my best friend over the phone.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, for me waiting for the creative desire to take over. Sometimes I sit down with the intention to write, but my muse stalls and it doesn’t happen like I want It to. It has to be organic.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Carl Weber and his ability to get you all caught up with his characters. I LOVE his style of storytelling.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Not yet but I feel it coming.

Who designed the covers?

My business partner, Marc D. Walker CEO of 7 Mile Radio LLC

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Getting it finished. I really had to buckle down from Media Life for a minute to concentrate on finishing this book.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that if you build it they will come. Everything I thought of to promote this book is bigger than anything I’ve done to promote the others so I had to learn to walk by faith, trusting in the gifts The Creator has given me to do this my way. I think that lesson is important in life overall.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Trust yourself. Remember that this is not a get rich quick situation. You have to believe in the project when NO ONE else does and that’s okay because the VISION wasn’t given to anyone else. It was given to YOU therefore it’s only yours to SEE and EXECUTE!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes…THANK YOU for trusting me with the task of entertaining you and I only hope that you get just as much pleasure, if not more, from reading my book, as I got from writing it.

Connect with Tracie at:

www.teliceallacess.com

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/t.e.bsidedj

Twitter: @TeeElice

Purchase Toast to the Fool at:  http://www.amazon.com/Toast-Fool-Tracie-E-Christian/dp/1522961291/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1456429872&sr=8-1&keywords=Toast+to+the+Fool+by+Tracie+E.+Christian

 

 

Toast to the Fool

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

