#MotownWriters Author Feature: Rebecca Lombardo #Michlit @bekalombardo

Rebecca Lombardo

Rebecca Lombardo

Where are you from? I live in Farmington Hills. I was born and raised here.

Tell us your latest news? I’ve been invited to participate in a local author’s night on April 12th at Schuler Books in Okemos, Michigan. It starts at 7:00 PM. I’m looking forward to it.

When and why did you begin writing? I actually started writing when I was very young. The first story ever wrote and illustrated myself was in third grade.

When did you first consider yourself a writer? After I got out of high school, I was very good at poetry, and it was about that time I decided I was an actual writer.LASTCOVER

What inspired you to write your first book? Honestly, my life. The book is a true story about me and my battle with bipolar disorder. It started as a blog. I survived a suicide attempt in 2013.

Do you have a specific writing style? I would say my writing style is honest and raw. I don’t hold anything back.

How did you come up with the title? The title is “It’s Not Your Journey” and it just came to me, and was very fitting, because it truly isn’t anyone else’s journey but mine.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? Absolutely. I want very much to help people that have been through some of the same things I have with depression. I want them to know that I did survive, but I would never advise making the same decisions I did. Also, people need to know that they aren’t alone.

How much of the book is realistic? All of it. Every last page.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Absolutely. Everything contained in the book, I lived through.

What books have most influenced your life most? Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden and The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice. Anne Rice has long been my favorite author. I also enjoy Jane Green and Jennifer Weiner for more of a comedic spin.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? I don’t think I consider any one writer a mentor to me. I take a little away from everything I read.

What book are you reading now? I just finished Troublemaker by Leah Remini. It was fantastic.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Not at this time.

What are your current projects? At this point, I’m still working on my blog. I’m also contributing to any other blogs that have approached me. I spend quite a bit of time promoting my book as well. I’m still deciding whether I will be writing another book.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. I have some extremely supportive friends that I appreciate, but the people that I have encountered in the Mental Health community have been absolutely amazing, and I’m grateful to all of them.

Do you see writing as a career? I absolutely do, but I haven’t made the decision yet. I love writing, but I’m not sure I could keep writing book after book. It’s extremely physically and mentally exhausting. I am hopeful, though!

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Actually, I would make it longer, but other than that I feel that I accomplished everything I set out to do with it.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? When I was just a kid in third grade I loved writing and being creative. It developed even more as I went through school. I was on the literary magazine staff in high school.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? As I mentioned, I am bipolar. I was diagnosed at age 19. It’s a constant battle to keep your head above water. I have dealt with a lot of pain in my life, and I’ve come out on the other side a stronger person.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Definitely. I have written about some extremely painful things. Having to go back over them again and again to edit or proof read is very difficult.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? My favorite author has been Anne Rice for many years. I absolutely adore the amount of detail she uses in her stories. You begin to feel like you know the characters. I’ve never read a book of hers and not had a clear picture in my head of the scenery or what the character looked like. I feel like I learn from her as well. There have been times I’ve needed to look a word or two up because she just has this vast knowledge of the English language.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? Not at this time.

Who designed the covers? I would like to be able to say it was a team effort. My publisher threw some ideas at me, and I just couldn’t find anything I liked. So, I came up with an idea and spoke to my husband about it. He loved it, so we went to my publisher and he thought it was great. So, he did the actual design elements, we came up with the concept.
What was the hardest part of writing your book? Talking about the people in my life that are no longer here, and describing the day I nearly died.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? I’ve learned quite a bit. One of the most valuable things I learned is how to edit myself. I can read a sentence and if I’m not crazy about it, or it doesn’t sound right, it’s almost automatic now that I can switch it around and add or subtract important elements. In addition, I learned to have confidence in my writing. I am actually good at what I do!

Do you have any advice for other writers? The most difficult thing you will face is rejection. Everyone faces it at one point or another. Try as hard as you can not to take it personally. My book is completely about me, so if I got turned down it felt like I wasn’t good enough. Keep trying and keep fighting to get your name out there. It’s extremely important to keep a log of who you submitted to and when. That’s one thing I desperately wish I had done.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? First of all, thank you. I don’t think anyone has any idea how much of an impact they make on my life when they read my work and accept me. Also, please don’t stop fighting. Whether it’s depression or any other disease, it’s so important to keep telling yourself that you can do it. I hope that my story will show them that.

Learn more about Rebecca at: www.rebeccalombardo.com 

Contact the Author: www.facebook.com/notyourjourney

www.twitter.com/bekalombardo

Blog: http://www.judgmentfreezone2013.blogspot.com/

Purchase: www.amzn.com/0692509739

Meet with the Author: 

Meet the Author!

Meet the Author!

 

Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “#MotownWriters Author Feature: Rebecca Lombardo #Michlit @bekalombardo

Leave a Reply

