#MotorCityBookExperience

Danie James

DJWhere are you from? University City. A suburb of Saint Louis, Missouri

Tell us your latest news? I was a feature artist at Wilbert’s Food & Music in Cleveland, Ohio a few weeks ago.
When and why did you begin writing? I began writing at 13 after I saw the movie Poetic Justice
When did you first consider yourself a writer? When I was 16
What inspired you to write your first book? The inspiration behind Broken Flower was from an abusive relationship I was in 6 years ago. I used writing as a way to cope with the break-up.
Do you have a specific writing style? Its mostly bold and in your face. Very unapologetic and honest.
How did you come up with the title? It just came to me in my sleep
Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? Love yourself
How much of the book is realistic? 80%
Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Yes
What books have most influenced your life most? The Complete Poetry Collection of Maya Angelou
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Maya Angelou
What are your current projects? I’m putting together a DVD with my top 10 best spoken word pieces, plus 3 bonus pieces not published yet. I will be headlining in the first Poetry Festival in Cincinnati, Ohio June 5th. I am working on my fourth poetry collections and other short stories. Also taking acting classes once a week at JC Modeling Agency
Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. God
Do you see writing as a career? Yes
If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? My latest book, “Erotica Avenue: Love & Lust Poems”, I would not change a thing. Its perfectly crafted.
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I have written short stories and screen plays since 10. I began doing poetry when I saw Poetic Justice at 16. I was looking to gain a new hobby and it later became a passion.
Can you share a little of your current work with us? Yes.
Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Sometimes I may go days without writing anything, I may not feel inspired that day. I will have an idea but get writer’s block.
Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? I really don’t have a favorite author aside from Maya Angelou and maybe Zane.
Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? Yes. I have traveled to a few places to promote all three of my books.
Who designed the covers? I design all my covers using Amazon cover design for self-published authors.
What was the hardest part of writing your book? The hardest part about writing my first book, “Broken Flower” was the editing process. It took two weeks because I kept having to re-submit it for errors.
Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? Yes, to value myself more. How much I grown as a woman and writer. To write without limitations. Don’t be afraid to go to those uncomfortable places.
Do you have any advice for other writers? Think outside the box. Be creative in every way possible and stay true to yourself.
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? All three of my books are available on Amazon. Go get it!!

Connect with the author: wix.com/djamesentertainment

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4aimEbsSYQk&list=PLnS1jjqFRxChDEAMdWfmlGQZDiyGDaxRE

Purchase Books: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=Danie+James

 

51e1nnWxv-L._AC_US160_

51xNI7XmaiL._AC_US160_Danie James

Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

