#MotorCity Book Experience: Terrie L. Branch @BossladyTerri

Terrie L. Branch

Terrie L. Branch

 Terrie L. Branch

Where are you from?    I’m a Hampton, Virginia Native.

Tell us your latest news? I’m currently working on a project with Author Justin Q. Young. We are collaborating on a sexy novel that I’m super excited to do. I also have some projects that I’m collaborating with my label mates Nikay Rountree, Anitra Hill, and publisher Shaunta Kenerly. Im so excited about these projects. I have a new release coming in May 2016, “Choose Your Poison (Confessions of a Stripper”, I also have  2 books being released by the end of the year, “Mr.CEO (Sex Games), Prison Bluez (Numbers Game).

When and why did you begin writing?   I started writing in 2013. I’m a hairstylist by trade and have a lot of faithful clients and friends. I’m told that I inspire people and with that being said, I was in my salon one day having girl talk with a few ladies. They seemed to think that the advice I was giving was really great and told me I should write a book. I immediately laughed it off and said “I’m a hairstylist, not an author.” Only for God to reveal yet another talent that I didn’t know I possessed. So i decided to write my first novel being guided by a minister/ author that was a client. After publishing the novel, i received a lot of positive feedback. That was mind blowing to me. It was a self help novel with a twist. I added an erotic fiction portion to the beginning and the readers loved the intimate scenes. So afterwards I decided to try it again and me being a perfectionist, I knew there was room for improvement. When I began writing again , I reached out to Kiki Swinson after seeing a post on her Facebook page. She told me to send in my manuscript to be reviewed. I received an email back that said they loved it and she signed me to a three book deal. That blew my mind and lit the fire under my feet. I has since then signed under Shaunta Kenerly Presents Publications and it has been nothing less than great with my new publisher!

When did you first consider yourself a writer?   Every since I typed the title to my very first manuscript, in 2013, I’ve considered myself a writer. I truly believe when God puts something on my heart its meant for me.

What inspired you to write your first book?  I was inspired by clients and friends. One of my clients is an author as well and suggested that i do so after I rendered advice to the ladies about dating in my salon.

Do you have a specific writing style? No I don’t think I have a specific style. I just kinda flow. I love being descriptive when it comes to love making scenes.

How did you come up with the title? The Game From A woman’s Perspective was my first novels title. I figured since I was talking about dating from a woman’s point of view that the title would be fitting and catchy. I did brain storm for other titles but this one really stuck. I named each chapter using basketball terms to make it interesting. Then I added a twist ,starting the book off with an erotic fiction short story and concluding with the self help portion.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? In my novel “The Game From A Woman’s Perspective” I want the readers to know that loving yourself first is always important before pursuing a relationship. If you are capable of loving yourself first , then you are capable of recognizing and true love. My first chapter is “Key Player” and talks strictly about you.

How much of the book is realistic? I feel like a lot of it is.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Well I come in contact with a lot of people and I hear a lot. So with that being said…yes some i can relate to then there is some that is related to the things that I have heard over the years.

What books have most influenced your life most? I love to read. The Bible is one that I would say has the most influence on my life. I don’t of any other books, that I can think of that have really influenced my life though.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Shaunta Kenerly

What book are you reading now? I love to read but since I have been writing, I haven’t had much time to read like I want to. I always read the bible and my Daily Devotions by Joyce Meyers almost every day.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Danielle Offett, Anitra Hill , Nikay Rountree, Shaunta Kenerly.

What are your current projects? I’m currently working on a project with Author Justin Q. Young. We are collaborating on a sexy novel that I’m super excited to do. I also have some projects that I’m collaborating with my label mates Nikay Rountree, Anitra Hill, and publisher Shaunta Kenerly. Im so excited about these projects. I have a new release coming in May 2016, “Choose Your Poison (Confessions of a Stripper”, I also have  2 books being released by the end of the year, “Mr.CEO (Sex Games), Prison Bluez (Numbers Game).

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. My facebook followers really showed me love. I have a friend Falisha Carman that really stuck with me cheering me on and buying every book that I wrote.

Do you see writing as a career? Yes I Do! I love writing! Its almost like leaving your world and placing yourself in this fictitious world momentarily,. Its so rejuvenating! So once I’m retired from the hair industry , absolutely. I will definitely continue writing and on a full time bases.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? No

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? After receiving so many great reviews on my first novel, I was so fascinated that I started my second.Once I was signed to New York Times Best Selling Author Kiki Swinson, it showed me that someone in the game already recognized my talent. So it motivated me to keep going. It lit the fire under my feet, so to say I feel like there’s always room to grow. So I was able to see the growth from one book to another. Im looking forward to future growth and more books. I just love it!!! 

Can you share a little of your current work with us? Yes.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  From time to time I experience writers block. Sometimes its a challenge trying to decide the genre in which a title should fit under, but other than that I haven’t ran into many challenges.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Mary Monroe & Danielle Steele. I love a book that keeps my interest.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? I was a part of the Sistahs on Lit event in DC/Maryland. I will also be at Atlanta KickBack Bookfest October 8th.

Who designed the covers? Our publisher uses a variety of graphic designers. Aja Monique of Amb Branding designed Mr CEO, and Choose Your Poison.

What was the hardest part of writing your book? The hardest thing was keeping up with all the different characters. After writing so much, it all seems to run into another. So I created a Note Page with key points and character names on it for each book.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? There is always room for improvement.  Take my time and be descriptive. 

Do you have any advice for other writers? Stick to your style of writing.Stay true to yourself.  You have to stand out in your own way! Be original.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Thank you so much for supporting me. I love you guys! Make sure that you check me out on social media and my website.

Visit the author:  www.AuthorTerrieLBranch.weebly.com

Connect with the author:

FaceBook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorTerrieBranch/ 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BossladyTerri

Purchase The Game From A Woman’s Perspectiveamazon.com/author/terriebranch

GBS

Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

