Planning for Pansters: Writing a Novel without an Outline

Are you a plotter or Pansters? Please take a moment and read this article :

Planning for Pansters: Writing a Novel without an Outline

WordServe Water Cooler

I envy those writers who outline their whole novel before they even begin chapter one. They sit down at their computer, begin typing and already know what they’re going to type. A little expansion here, a little fleshing out there. There’s no fretting as they try to pick out their story’s path one step at a time.

O boy, do I wish ….

But no, I’m a panster (as in I write by the seat of my pants). I’ve tried outlining, but except for a handful of scenes, I simply cannot tell what needs to happen in a story until I start writing in my characters’ voices. One scene leads to the next.

But as J.R.R. Tolkien famously said, “All those who wander are not lost.” If you’re a panster, trust yourself to discover your novel’s path as you write it. A little wandering is likely to give the story…

View original post 445 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

