#MotorCity Book Experience: Dewane Parker @DewaneParker

Dewane Parker

Dewane Parker

Where are you from?
I was born and raised in Washington, DC
Tell us your latest news?
I’m an actor and author and I have been filming a secretive Marvel Comics project the last three weeks.
When and why did you begin writing?
I started writing two years ago and I wanted to be an inspiration to kids that have come from dysfunctional homes or being neglected by parents/guardians.
When did you first consider yourself a writer?
This is my first book so once it came out in January of 2016 and I went online to Amazon to view it that’s when I knew that I was a writer.
What inspired you to write your first book?
I was inspired because I was a former agent and I wanted to tell a different side of what it’s like to see an agent in reality as opposed to the TV/Movie version that we watch.
Do you have a specific writing style?
I have no specific writing style, I’m still feeling that out
How did you come up with the title?
I wanted the title to stand out and reflect the entire book and the main character “Stacy Mays” tracks his life back as far as birth when his dysfunction began.
Is there a message in your novel that you want your readers to grasp?
The message that I want the readers to grasp is that agents and operatives give up their entire personal life and back in the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s the novel depicts what they have to endure to keep world safe and shows how their emotions effects them just like civilians.
How much of the book is realistic? 
Much of the book is realistic
Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Yes there are some experiences that are based on my own life
What books have most influenced your life most?
Catcher in the Rye and Native Son
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
Stephen King
What book are you reading now?
Son of Hamas
Are there any new authors at have grasp your interests?
No new authors and there are so many out there and I am a fiction type of person.
What are your current projects?
Well I am currently an actor on Law and Order SVU, Blacklist, Blue Bloods, Power, Orange is the New Black and I was recently in movies Creed and Money Monster and I am   filming   a secret Marvel Comics project now.  Also I am attending numerous book signings all over the US and I am also attending screenwriting class and I also conduct sexting/cyberbullying symposiums for students and parents throughout the US.
 Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members?
God was the only one that supported me throughout my career as an agent even when I was not saved or spiritual back then and I should have been dead and buried.
Do you see writing as a career?
Yes I do see writing as one of my careers, I have always had to re-invent myself and be open to change and writing is exciting when you bring your story to readers around the world.
If you had to do it all over again would you change anything in your latest book?
Of course there are things that you see in your book that you may want to change but since I’m writing Born Dead 2 I think the first book is pretty good as it is.
Do you recall how your interest n writing originated?
No I don’t recall my writing interest, It just came to me to write a book and to make it as real to the readers as possible.
Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Agent/ Operative Stacy Mays is constructed by the government to inflict massive punishment with no fear of death. Yes, his life is not his own. After all, why should it be? He was Born Dead.
Is there anything that you find particularly challenging in your writing? 
What’s challenging is getting the readers to visualize with the main character and proceed along with him throughout the book with his experiences and keep them on a roller coaster ride.
Who is your favorite author and what is it that strikes you about there work?
Again I would say Stephen King, because he kept you on the ride up and down with surprises in between.
Do you have to travel much concerning your book?
Yes I travel and I didn’t expect the book to do so well so soon but it has.
Who designed the cover? 
I designed the cover, I wanted something to stand out and for the readers to notice it once they see it.
What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Trying to understand how to write and get the reader to follow it, I never wrote a novel before so it was difficult in the beginning but it got easier as I went along.
Did you learn anything writing your book and what was it?
What I learned from writing the novel was that you have to pursue your dreams and don’t settle for nothing less, that’s when then and only then that you find your peace and I writing for me is bringing peace to my soul.
Do you any advice for other writers?
You must believe in your writing and don’t listen to people, friends and family tell you that you can’t write. Express it so everyone can understand and visualize the plot.
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I welcome your feed back in regards to the book and I continue to work on giving you incredible stories that allow you picture yourself in that living room.
More about the author at:
Connect with the author at:
Purchase Born Dead The Life and Times of Agent/Operative Stacy Mays at: http://www.amazon.com/Born-Dead-Times-Agent-Operative
Site_3D_Cover_BornDead
Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “#MotorCity Book Experience: Dewane Parker @DewaneParker

  1. Debbie Parker

    Wonderful interview, personal and up close. Let the reader know who you are😍😍

    Like

  2. Christy

    Great interview, Excellent book! Dewane’s words are bound to affect any reader…but I highly recommend it to men especially. You will exoerience a meriod of emotion and really feel what it’s like to walk in shoes you never want wear…..at least that was my take…buy it…it left me with a healing feeling…and of course in anticipation for the sequel.👏🏻

    Like

Leave a Reply

