MichganWriters Author Feature: India T Norfleet #Michlit @MsInnocentNdya

 

India T Norfleet

India T Norfleet

India T Norfleet

Where are you from?

Detroit Michigan.

Tell us your latest news?

I’m currently in the process of writing my next two books and a collaboration!

When and why did you begin writing?

I was about fourteen or so. I would write short stories, letters to myself. Then after the death of a high school sweetheart, I begin writing poetry to deal with the pain.

 

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I had a journalism elective in high school and when I read my first story and a few of my poems in the high school paper, I was like, I have arrived! I’m officially a writer. Lol.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I fell in love with the written word at a very your age. I was an avid reader. Though sometime during high school, I’d discovered African American romance and I decided that one day in the near future, I would become a bestselling romance novelist. And I did!

Do you have a specific writing style?

Depends on the angle I go in and view each project from but I would say I range from

Soft and sweet to edgy and raw with a bunch of surprise twists in between.

How did you come up with the title?

I was just in awe of this beautiful orange and pink sunset driving home one evening and I said to myself, Sunsets With You is going to be the title. And then my publisher suggested I had my characters names to the title for a more personal touch.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Absolutely! Never stop believing in love. Though no relationship is perfect. Love is real and it’s beautiful and all-consuming but on the flip side, love can also be ugly, painful and also all-consuming. And I want my readers to not only take away the amazing story, but the hope that no matter the obstacle, love is always within reach. And that you actually be happy!

How much of the book is realistic?

It’s all realistic. Love is real, both the pleasant side effects of it and harsh painful truth of it. I may write fictional love stories but all fiction is based on some sort of fact!

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, events were all thought up on my own, with no help from my own life.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Wow! Tons…but just to name a few:

A Rose That Grew From Concrete by Tupac Shakur

The Coldest Winter Ever by Sister Souljah

Leslie by Omar Tyree

Friends and Lovers by Eric Jerome Dickey

All Lynsay Sands books

All Beverly Jenkins books

All of Stephen Kings Books

Most of Zane’s books

 If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I would consider both Eric Jerome Dickey and Beverly Jenkins mentors to me.

What book are you reading now?

Never Going Back by Nia Rich.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes! Lakelia DeLoach, King Benjamin, Nia Rich, Myriah Westbrooks, Kenya Rivers, Danielle Marcus, Dechella Taylor, Rachel Perez, Lataryn Rainey-Perry and tons more!

What are your current projects?

Taste Us Together, Sunsets With You 3 & Reporting Live: Straight From My Heart.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My instructor when I attended barber school. He was a big supporter but he passed away before my first book was ever published.

Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. I now write full-time.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not a thing!

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Mostly just from reading a lot. I wanted to see if I could write like tons of my favorite authors I read growing up.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure! This is from Sunsets 3.

“Nicholas please, I’m not in the fucking mood. It’s so damn comical to me that you’ve been to my house more now than when we were together. You really got shit in life confused. Do see about you getting some help. After you’ve gotten as far away as humanly possible from my doorstep.” Carmen slurred as she stumbled slightly into the door frame.

“Carmen come on, let me in. And how much have you had to drink?” Nicholas’ face grew weary with concern as he moved closer to the door.

“None of your damn business. What’s it to you any fucking way? You don’t give a shit about me. B-because if you did, you wouldn’t have let my baby fucking die. And you wouldn’t’ve never left me. You don’t treat people you love like shit Nicholas. You don’t fucking hurt the people you love you sick sadistic bastard.”

“Carmen move your ass away from the door now.” Nicholas mumbled through gritted teeth.

“N-no, you don’t own me. She turned her nose up and frowned. And you ain’t my fucking daddy. So you can kiss my ass and leave me alone before I call the damn cops.”

Carmen pulled her front door back with the intention to give it one good hard slam but tripped over her own two feet and stumbled backward, hit her head on the corner of the couch and fell to the floor hard.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Sometimes writing the synopsis can be challenging. But I’m learning not to think so hard on it and to just let it flow and alter it once I have everything I’m trying to say down on paper.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Beverly Jenkins is my favorite author. What really strikes me about her work is how she is about to weave black history that they don’t reach in high school, into a heart pounding love story. I just love her!

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No but I am going to starting traveling more to meet more readers and do more networking.

Who designed the covers?

I go through different designers but Brittani Williams and Tammy Capri have both designed most of my covers.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part was trying to stick to the outline I had created. Once my characters started speaking to me I was all over the place. And I never know how the book is going to end or where they want to take me. And it can be difficult at times because I have to rearrange everything or write in new scenes when I’ve already decided what I wanted to happen. But once I get it all together, I’m good!

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

It was to stop being so hard on myself and trust how I will end the book or how I want it to progress instead of trying to go back and rewrite or second guess my decisions. I’m my own worse critic, and I sometimes let it get in the way of just telling a great story.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never give up on your dreams of becoming a writer. Its hard work, long hours, you spend a lot of time away from family and friends and you may even forget to eat somethings but if it’s your passion, treat it as such! Study the craft, take a few classes on writing and get you a website. Treat it as a job, take it seriously if you want to write full time. And most of all, you’ve got to believe in yourself. If you don’t, why should anyone else?

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

That I Love you guys so much! I mean from the bottom of my heat! I would’ve be out here living my dreams without you all! Thank you for falling in love with the way I write romance!

More from the author: www.indiatnorfleet.com

Connect with the author:

Facebook Link http://www.facebook.com/authorindia.tnorfleet

Twitter Link https://twitter.com/MsInnocentNdya

Purchase Nicholas & Carmen: Sunsets With You: Amazon Link http://www.amazon.com/India-T.-Norfleet/e/B00G1Y1S50/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

Excerpt From Nicholas & Carmen: Sunsets With You:  wordpress.com/read/feeds/35981866/posts/989014478

12016271_1699886410228917_1861988986_o

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

