#MotorCityBookExperience Author: Ni’Kay Rountree @authornikay

Where are you from? Chesapeake, Virginia 

 Ni'Kay Rountree

Ni’Kay Rountree

Tell us your latest news?  

I am currently working on A Woman’s Intuition.  It is a collection of short stories that will show the power of the woman’s third eye, called Intuition. In addition, I am working on a novel with my publisher and other Kenerly Presents authors, called Sex Therapy.  I also recently released Flawed and All, a novel co-written with Yushekia Mason and published by Two Queens Media.

When and why did you begin writing?  

I started writing short stories when I was in middle school, but stopped when I entered high school and became heavily involved in the band and track.  In 2013, I picked it back up again after having a mini-stroke and upon doctor’s orders being told I needed to find a way to eliminate unnecessary stress.  In turn, writing became my stress reliever.
When did you first consider yourself a writer?   I considered myself a writer the very first time I put pen to paper and told a story that was completely NOT TRUE. (smile)

What inspired you to write your first book?  

Life.  My first self-published book was entitled, When It Rains, It Pours.  This book was later relaunched under Kiki Swinson Presents as Cash Rules Everything Around Me.   This was my first book under an independent publisher.

Do you have a specific writing style?

No.  I don’t think so.  I just write what comes to mind.  Some times it makes sense and some times it doesn’t.  But, most of the time it just flows and is amazing.
How did you come up with the title?  

It may sound strange, but my titles often come to me in my dreams.  I come up with my title first.  Then, I write.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?  

I consider myself a Women’s Fiction author.  Most of my books are about cheating and infidelity.  Women and Men can relate to most of my titles.  I hope the message at the end of the day is, Don’t Cheat.  Be faithful…or else.  LOL!

How much of the book is realistic?  

Well, in The Cheater’s Wife, most of it was purely fiction.  However, there were bits and pieces from the book that I took from personal situations.  I am asked this question often, but I have vowed not to disclose which parts. 🙂

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  

I suppose so.  Through the daily encounters that you have with people over your lifetime, you hear and see a lot.  Ultimately, those reflections help you build some great story lines. 

What books have most influenced your life most?  

After reading The Coldest Winter Ever by Sister Souljah, Candy Shop by Kiki Swinson, and Disappearing Acts by Terri McMillian, it let me know that it was possible to become an author one day.  At that time, I would have never guessed that it would really happen.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Shaunta Kenerly

What book are you reading now?  Karmas Kiss by Snook

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Of course, my pen sisters from Kenerly Presents, Terrie Branch and Anitra Hill.  I also love to read work from my former Kiki Swinson Presents pen sisters, Yushekia Mason, Ashley Cruse, Cynthia Rubio, Natalie Sade, and Angela Smith.  We continue to support each other, although we are no longer under KS Presents.  There are so many new authors out there that are amazing.  Since I started writing, I don’t read as much as I used to; however, I do support many of the authors by purchasing their books.  My Kindle is loaded with newly released books from the veterans and new authors.

What are your current projects?  

I am currently working on A Woman’s Intuition and a collaboration on the book, Sex Therapy.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My pen sisters, Terrie Branch and Anitra Hill.  I know you said one, but they come as a pair. LOL.

Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.  I hope to one day work as a full-time author.  In addition, a short-term goal is to publish 2-3 authors before the end of 2016.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?  

No.  However, when the second part of The Cheater’s Wife is relaunched, I plan to rewrite some chapters and bring the series to a close.
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I just remember being a middle school student and walking around with this spiral notebook full of these short stories and pretending I was a best selling author.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?  

The first story in A Woman’s Intuition is called Fatal Illusions.  The main character is Tempest.  She is about to marry the love of her life,Tamaj, even though she is being prompted by others that she is making the wrong choice…

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  

Well, my biggest challenge is writing about sex.  Most of my work, although I am growing, leaves the sex to your imagination.  I elude to it, but don’t ever really take you there.  I have been blessed to write really great stories and maintaining my reader’s attention without it.  I am working on it because I know the readers do like to know the explicit details. LOL.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  

I don’t have a favorite author.  I am a lover of many.  If I were to name all of my favorites, then I would surely miss someone.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? 

Yes.  My publisher has always told me that you have to get out and meet your readers.  So far, I have participated in local author functions and the Sisters on Lit Bookfest.

Who designed the covers? AMB Branding/Aija Butler

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Time.  With my busy life, finding the time to actually write without interruptions was and continues to be the hardest part about writing.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

 Yes.  I consider myself a student of the craft.  The more I write, the more I learn about the entire process.  Dialogue and the importance of knowing when you are using to many talking heads vs. too much telling and not enough showing.

Do you have any advice for other writers?  

Just Write!  If you want to become an author, put your work on paper.  Make sure you get a good editor and do your research on how you want to get your work out to the readers.  Please know that it is not easy.  You will not accomplish success overnight.  However, with hard work, dedication, and lots of prayer, you will gain a following that no one will be able to take away.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  

I want to thank everyone who has ever read my work, gave me a word (s) of encouragement, served as a Beta Reader, shared my posts, attended my book events, told me about a book event, or has done anything to help me along the way.

 

More from the author: www.authornikay.weebly.com 

Connect with  Ni’Kay Rountree:

www.facebook.com/authornikayrountree

www.twitter.com/authornikay

Purchase Cheaters Wife:

http://www.amazon.com/NiKay/e/B00BH4983S/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0

 

THE CHEATERS WIFE#IAmShe #VAAuthorChick #Flawless #SKPresents 

Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

