#MotownWriters Author Feature: Cheryl Lyn Phillips #Michlit #MotownLit

Cheryl Phillips

Cheryl Phillips

Where are you from?

Northville, MI. Born in Detroit, MI and grew up on the West Side.

Tell us your latest news?

Recently attended Leon & LuLu’s Books and Authors event, Clawson, MI

When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing in 2009. My inspiration was a dog, GG, and I wanted to tell her story, through her eyes.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

At my book signing when I sold over 200 books, when I received great reviews from independent readers, and when my readers said they learned something.

What inspired you to write your first book?

My inspiration was a dog that I rescued in Detroit while volunteering for Habitat for Humanity. I wanted to share her story from abandonment to salvation, and instill compassion for animals in my readers; the plight of abandonment, homelessness, and overpopulation.  Also, I wanted to educate readers on the breed of Staffordshire terrier and the myths.

Do you have a specific writing style?

In this case it is narrative, telling a story; however, I believe the style depends on the content and what message you are attempting to deliver to the reader.

How did you come up with the title?

GG’s rescue was not without many trials and tribulations before finding her “Furever” home. I thought the title was a good depiction: GG’s Journey: From Lost to Loved.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Humane education. To be compassionate to all living creatures, help stray animals, or call someone that can, spay or neuter your pet, and don’t pre judge a breed. Aggressive behavior is often taught and rewarded by pet owners.  The animal is not bad, the owner is!

How much of the book is realistic?

GG’s Journey: From Lost to Loved is a fictional account of a true story, as she narrates the story. The events are real.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Personal experiences.

What books have most influenced your life most?

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, Stephen R. Covey, The Secret, Rhonda Byrne and Redemption: The Myth of Pet Overpopulation and the No Kill Revolution in America, Nathan Winograd.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Nathan Winograd.

What book are you reading now?

Currently, I am completing my second novel.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Not at this time.

What are your current projects?

Completing my second novel.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My editors provided encouragement.

Do you see writing as a career?

When I retire, I plan to spend more time writing.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would add more photos, and broaden my word selection to avoid repetitiveness.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes, when I rescued GG. Her story had to be told. It is the plight of many abandon and abused animals, and they need a voice, and we need to educate, educate, and educate to end animal abuse and neglect.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

It is the story of why four board members resigned from a Michigan shelter and what really goes on behind closed doors.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

It is an honor to have the public buy my book, and I want to instill emotion in my work.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I do not have a favorite author, but find that what strikes me in writing is the ability to leave the reader with a strong message, and generate emotion.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I attend several events, locally, at this time.

Who designed the covers?

I had a vision of what I wanted and worked with a graphic artist to bring it to life.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Editing and more editing.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

When you are passionate about something and write from your heart, the words flow. I recall one day, I started writing that afternoon and wrote until 4:00 a.m.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Go with what is in your heart, and you can’t go wrong. Find a great editor and check grammar, punctuation and spelling, over and over.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Writing is hard work, but personally rewarding. Stick with it!

12227154_566536173513969_425182231539090042_n

More from the author:  www.ggsjourney.com

https://www.amazon.com/GGs-Journey-Cheryl-Lyn-Phillips-ebook/dp/B01BN2T42S

Connect with the author at: https://www.facebook.com/ggsjourney/?fref=ts

Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

