How to Create a Book Cover That Connects with Readers #motownwriters

A novel can take a few years to write (if you’re lucky).|

By the time your book is ready for a cover, it can be tempting to rush through this step. But your book’s cover is just as important as the story inside—especially during those critical few seconds when a purchasing decision is made—which is why it deserves as much thought and attention. I’m sure I’ve overlooked hundreds of great books because I didn’t like their covers. And I’ve purchased more than a few mediocre books because their covers were too beautiful to resist. Our goal as indie authors is to produce a book that is a masterpiece both inside and out, so it’s a tragedy when a book’s inner beauty is overlooked because of an inferior cover.Since publishing Empty Arms, many people have complimented me on my book cover. While I’m grateful that my cover resonates with readers, I must admit, it wasn’t all luck. I spent a lot of time deconstructing book covers, developing a creative brief to clearly communicate my vision, and hiring the right graphic designer to execute it. One of the best parts of being an indie author is having full creative control over every aspect of your book, including the cover; but unless you know what you’re doing, it can also be the scariest. Today, I’m going to share the design process and best practices that helped me create a book cover that readers love.

Read more: http://writerunboxed.com/2017/04/29/how-to-create-a-book-cover-that-connects-with-readers/

Categories: Article | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “How to Create a Book Cover That Connects with Readers #motownwriters

  1. Reblogged this on Don Massenzio's Blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

