Article: Writing Through a Slump by Nick Adkins #MISCBWI #MittenLit #MotownWriters

http://scbwimithemitten.blogspot.com/2017/02/writing-through-slump-by-nick-adkins.html

 

michigan.scbwi.org

If a draft is written in a hotel lobby, and nobody is around to read it, does it really exist?|
I have been working on a chapter book since February 2015. The current iteration is “New Revisions 34.” I don’t know how many “Old Revisions” there were, but I do know that the new revisions started after I had named a file “August Adelaide’s How to Make a Friend FINAL FINAL.” Clearly it was not.
Most of those drafts have never been read by anyone other than me. I don’t like people seeing my work until I’ve read through it without making any edits. Then they mark it up in red and I start over. It’s crazy and endless. It’s write and rewrite and think about it in the shower and in the car, and then start it all over again.
read more: http://scbwimithemitten.blogspot.com/2017/02/writing-through-slump-by-nick-adkins.html

 

Categories: Article, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

