MotownWriters Author Feature: Francine L.Houston #Michlit #MotownLit

Francine L.Houston

Where are you from? I was born in Flint, MI, but I was raised in Mount Morris, MI.

Tell us your latest news?  I am doing a radio interview  Sunday, August 13, 2017 at 3pm.

When and why did you begin writing? I’ve  written most of my life, even in school. My first poem was called Funny How Things Changed. I wanted to express how I feel especially dealing with tough times.

What inspired you to write your first book? I wanted to write about my experience with Lupus because I could not find one to read at the time I was diagnosed.

Do you have a specific writing style? I do freestyle writing, journal writing, poetry, non-fiction and fictional.

How did you come up with the title? I wanted the title to say “Lupus” so readers would know what I was talking about. I included “journey ” so readers would know that life is a journey.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? That your heath is important. Taking care of yourself is important.

How much of the book is realistic? It’s non-fiction, fictional books will be published later.

Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Events in my own life

What books have most influenced your life most? I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Eva Demson, Dr. Norman Booker, Craig Samuels,  Dr. Eddie Connor, James Williams, Esoa and Shereena Osai, Denisha Shelene, Felicia McGee.

What are your current projects? Life After Lupus, Everyday Heros (learning to cope), poetry and short story book.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. Lupus Detroit, Michigan Lupus Foundation

Do you see writing as a career? Yes, also as an outlet.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? I would have made it longer.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? Freshman year in college to express myself.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? My second book talks about my life after dealing with my first flare-up.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Time management.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Maya Angelou. She is one of the best poets I know. She is realistic,personal, and really good with words.

Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)? I have traveled to a few cities but want to travel more.

Who designed the covers? I designed my book cover.

What was the hardest part of writing your book? With writing memoirs it is remembering everything. All of the other types of books making sure I grasp the reader’s attention.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Writing is therapy; it’s healing.

Do you have any advice for other writers? Don’t give up, let your voice be heard and be yourself.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? I wrote this book for readers to see what it is like dealing with an auto-immune disease, first hand.

More From The Author: www.francinelhouston.com
Connect With The Author:
Purchase Lupus Journey
 
Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

