MotownWriters Author Feature: Jaia Amoré #Michlit #MotownLit

Where are you from?
I am originally from New York but I have lived in the Metro Detroit since I was a toddler.
Tell us your latest news?
I recently published my first novel.  Right My Life:  A Quest to Find My True Self.
 
When and why did you begin writing?
In 2003, the spirit placed into my soul to begin writing which I did but after a few months I stopped writing due lack of motivation.
 
When did you first consider yourself a writer?
When I was laid-off from my job in 2009 I decided to return to school to obtain a second masters degree it was then when I realized I not only enjoyed writing but I was also pretty good at it.
What inspired you to write your first book?
With the motivation to heal my life and the hope to inspire others to heal their lives was the inspiration to write my first book.
 
Do you have a specific writing style?
No I don’t but for this particular novel I would say my writing style was more descriptive writing.   I wanted to extend to the reader the same or similar emotions as I felt as the writer.
How did you come up with the title?
I have always liked the play on words, so I decided to use the Right as in correct than to use the word Write, so while I was writing about my life I was in essence correcting it.
 
Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Yes absolutely, despite one’s challenges there are always opportunities to move beyond those challenges to manifest happiness and self-love.
How much of the book is realistic?
I would say a good portion of the book is based on true life events.
 
Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Some of the experiences in the book are my own.
What books have most influenced your life most?
Such books like “Value in the Valley:  A Black Woman’s Guide Through Life’s Dilemmas” and “Yesterday I Cried” by Iyanla Vanzant and most certainly “Know Thy Self “ By Dr. Venice Bloodworth.
 
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?
It would be most definitely Iyanla Vanzant.  Through her readings I was able to grasp the concepts of what it meant to be my true authentic self.
 
What book are you reading now?
I am not currently reading any books but I plan to purchase a few of Tumika Patrice’s books.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?
Yes, a close friend of mine wrote a book called “Somewhere Over the Rainbow:  A Quest to Find Love.
 
What are your current projects?
I haven’t started any new projects yet but I look forward to writing a spin-off novel based on a couple character from Right My Life: A Quest to Find My True Self.
 
Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
Besides my two good friends Demetria Hoskins and Starr Burton, I would say the Motown Writer’s Network has been a good support group.
Do you see writing as a career?
Yes, I want to be a career writer with many writing facets from writing children books to screenplays.
 
If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
I would choose a different printing company, the firm wasn’t able to provide me with the interior layout that I wanted nor did the front cover look the same as the digital image.
 
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
According to my mother I was praised by my elementary school teachers for my creative readings but I never really considered writing until a few years ago.
Can you share a little of your current work with us?
The story is based on the character Noel, she’s a world renowned author/publisher living her dream life, she reflects on her childhood pain, the impact it had on her life and how she managed to heal her life to become whole again.
 
Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?
Writing my thoughts in a way the reader can understand can be challenging.  
 
Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
I have few favorite authors one of them is Beverly Jenkins I like how she incorporates historical Detroit facts in her writings.
Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?
No not yet.
 
Who designed the covers?
Tai Bollen of Unique Designs
What was the hardest part of writing your book?
Finding the time to write was one of my major challenges. 
 
Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?
I learned the true concept of perseverance, I was able to muster up enough of it to go beyond my comfort zone to write about a subject matter that is not easy to have with others.
Do you have any advice for other writers?
I would like to advise other writers to stay encouraged and not be swayed by others to abandon their passion for writing.
 
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
We all have moments or events that shape our lives; they, in essence, create the people we become some of those events however may have damaged us in some way and if that is the case than I press upon you not allow those events to continue to destroy and/or control your life.  It is my hope that along your journey you find your own path to your true self for it the pathway to emotional healing and self-love.  be illumined, be victorious, be love!
 

More From The Author:  Jaiaamore.com

Connect With The Author:  facebook.com/illuminedeagle

 

Purchase Right My Life:  A Quest to Find My True Self 

Categories: Feature, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

